Sonnenleder “Spree” – The best leather wallet I’ve ever had

25763961175_ed282b9a86_o

You might be thinking “What’s the big deal? It’s just a wallet, it carries cards, coins and notes…”. Well, let me tell you: you’re not wrong. Seriously, you’re right, it’s just a wallet. But this particular one, by the German company called Sonnenleder, is one of the finest leather wallets I have ever come across.

25463275070_5370cbefaa_o

You might call it old-fashioned or picky, but I actually have some demands when it gets to choosing a wallet. It has to:

25737895306_f9713dea20_o

  • Be thin

If I’m going to carry it around the whole day, I don’t want a brick in my pocket, because it’s both uncomfortable and very awkward looking. As you can see, this one is quite thin. I can’t really feel it. Also, there were times that I genuinely freaked out because I thought I forgot it somewhere when it was just being a sneaky little wallet and it was just sitting inside my pocket minding its own business.

25763953915_8f3e1fccd4_b

  • Hold coins

This would probably be useless in America, but living in Europe, coins are just part of our lives. They are extremely useful to get a supermarket cart or to put them in a snacks machine. Also, the lowest note we have is €5 and a lot of the normal daily things like a cup of coffee or bread are only €1 or €2, so, we definitely have to carry coins. I’m not a big fan of needing a separate wallet just for coins or to have them in my pocket and sound like a cat with a bell when walking.

The only disadvantage I can think of is it gets a little bulkier if there are too many coins. But there really isn’t a way to avoid that, is there?

25133511794_0c498375a3_o

  • Hold (a relatively large amount of) cards.

ID, driving’s license, debit card, university card, business cards, you name it.

This wallet has 3 slots for cards, plus 2 on each side that can hold easily 10 cards in total.

25137360823_fd29fda96b_o

  • Be durable

Even though they’re thin, some wallets are way too flimsy and look like they’re made of paper and they’ll melt if I take them out when it’s raining, for example (I can’t actually think of a reason why I would take my wallet out in the rain… I apologise for that, and will leave that to your imagination!). I want to feel confident that my money and my cards are  protected. The “Spree” has a beautiful stitching and an extra leather layer on the sides.

25668873141_3c7f3c59ea_o

  • Be made of leather

Ok, to be honest, this last bullet point is not a requirement. But it is definitely nice to have a real leather wallet. Since day one until now, the Sonnenleder leather not only smells wonderful but also has a soft feeling, that will improve even more with time.

25763943905_d82ec4f547_o

One of the things that attracted me the most was its light tanned colour. With usage, as you can see in the pictures, the leather gets darker. All those darker marks are normal and at the beginning, I thought it was dirt and tried to clean it with a damp cloth, but the humidity only made it  even and permanently darker. I was annoyed at first because I really liked the lighter colour better, but now I enjoy this one just as much, so can’t really say it’s a con.

25763939835_f9179c00f3_o

Additionally, this has 2 compartments for notes (in case you’re wondering, in the picture above, the cards do fit inside, I just kept them out to show those 2 card slots).

25463253530_9761bda934_o

Overall, I’m really happy with this wallet. It is true that it isn’t the cheapest one on the planet, but the real leather, the beautiful stitching and the attention to detail definitely make up for the price.

25133495614_530a4fc5ae_o

What do you think of this? Let me know in the comments!

 

To stay up to date, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter
and to subscribe your e-mail below the comments section.
9 thoughts on “Sonnenleder “Spree” – The best leather wallet I’ve ever had

  1. I do agree that there would be non-negotiables in terms of quality with certain items that we use for personal reasons. It’s cheaper in the long run because high-quality items don’t get ruined easily with constant use nor tear,thus eliminating buying another replacement so soon. Whether it’s a wallet(Nice one you have!!!) ,good and comfortable shoes,etc., we only live once and deserve to have peace of mind and happiness in owning/using such items. Kudos!

    • I could not agree more with everything you just said! I think now more than ever, people struggle with choosing either a cheap product that can be replaced whenever they break or a more expensive product with quality that might last A LOT longer. For me at least, if I have the chance, I choose quality for products that are part of my daily life for example, like you said, a pair of comfortable shoes. It just makes us feel better, or more confident to face the challenges this world has to throw at us, doesn’t it? 😀

  2. Nicely written. I believe wallet is to men like handbags are to women. They add personality to our overall image and a good quality wallet is a great accessory. However, you never really mentioned about the price of this wallet.

  3. I purchased one of these many years ago. I had never heard of Sonnenleder Wallet but I just loved the looks, feel and smell of it. I had this wallet in my pocket, day in – day out, for a good 10 years and I can honestly say it aged just beautifully. When we finally parted ways my son took it over and used for a few more years. I had forgotten all about that wallet until I stumbled onto this review. Looking forward to acquiring another one.

    • I have never heard of it before getting it too, and was drawn into getting one exactly for the same reasons you did. I have it for just a year now, but I’m sure it’ll last long! Thank you for sharing your story with me! Let me know if you do get another one!

  4. We bought my husband a wallet on our vacation.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

