Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard mini

More than a simple cover, a keyboard.

Logitech is a company founded in 1981 that is very well known for its peripherals for computers and a wide range of products like sound and home entertainment systems. This keyboard is no exception to the innovative and modern design, always associated to Logitech. Let’s take a look.

Out of the box, you’ll find:

  • The keyboard;
  • A micro-USB cable;
  • A cleaning cloth;
  • Manuals

The micro-USB cable is used to recharge the keyboard and it is really short (just over 30 cm, or 12 inches). Also, you are not provided a charger, so you’ll have to either charge it in the computer or use the iPad’s charger. The battery life is quite impressive. I have been using it for about 4 months now and I just had to charge it once. It is advised that you switch it off if you are not using it for some time (to save some battery), but it will go into a sleep mode if it’s turned on and not being used for 15 minutes. It is eco-friendly and might save you from charging it every day.

The micro-USB cable is plugged on the right side of the keyboard. Furthermore, you’ll find the On/Off switch and the Bluetooth connecting button.

I’ve just realised I wrote too many times “keyboard”. I should start using the term “cover” now. It is amazing how it attaches to the iPad magnetically, similar to the Smart Cover. This definitely enhances its portability without having to fear that you might scratch the screen. However, as you can see in  the photograph above on the right, for better or worse, it is made of aluminum. There is absolutely no doubt that the aluminum gives a classy look to it, but I am also afraid it might get scratched relatively easily. That is why I normally carry them in a sleeve, to protect both the iPad and the keyboard/cover.

(There is another version of the keyboard called “Ultrathin Keyboard Folio” which has a fabric protection for the keyboard and some other differences).

Note that the magnetic attachment of the cover, as said previously, is similar to the Smart Cover. Not exactly the same, though.

As you can see, the magnetic parts can’t turn 360º.

This means that whenever you try to fold the cover behind the iPad, as you would normally do with the Smart Cover, it simply does not do that and the iPad detaches. At the beginning it can be a little bit annoying, but after using it for some weeks, one gets used to it and will not be bothered by that.

(Oh no! Green button – I forgot to turn it off. No problem,  it went to sleep mode. Useful!)

The gap in the middle of the keyboard, allows the iPad to rest perfectly and safely on it. Either in landscape…

… or portrait orientation.

This makes the keyboard really versatile because each orientation is useful for particular Apps.

How different is it from using the keyboard in the iPad?

The first big difference I noticed is that the “free space” increases dramatically. I didn’t realise it before, but the iOS keyboard really does take some space. Working in pages with this is delightful. Furthermore, it gives you the comfort of typing in a real keyboard and not a touch screen one. For some people, this might not be a big deal, but I work a lot faster because mistypings don’t happen as often. Also, it has loads of commands, to which when you get used to it, you’ll work/play/do whatever you do in the iPad 10 000 times quicker.

Some examples:

  • On the top left corner, there is a square. It is the equivalent of the home button.
  • By pressing fn + 1, you can lock the iPad (and clicking the square button unlocks it again).
  • fn + 4, quickly change the language of the keyboard.
  • fn + 8 and on, Start/pause, sound volume
  • cmd + c or v, copy and paste.

And finally, it makes the iPad similar to a mini laptop. And that definitely looks cool.

Hope you enjoyed this first post (of hopefully many!) and any feedback will be appreciated.

Thank you for reading!

 

To stay up to date, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter
and to subscribe your e-mail below the comments section.

 

15 thoughts on “Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard mini

  1. I think your photo’s have really captured the keyboard well. I’m pretty impressed that you’ve used it for 4 months and only had to recharge 1. I’m on a MAC book pro but also have the mini for bed (shame, I should but turn off the tech stuff in bed, ha). I do find the mini a lot slower to work on. For some unknown reason, Apple touch products don’t recognize my touches and swipes readily. Same thing happens on my husband’s iPhone. It’s weird, so I choose a Samsung S5 because it’s not a problem on their product. We stuck with Apple for iCloud, it’s handy to share music and stuff. If I didn’t have a MAC, I’d really consider this keyboard. I like that you can orient it both in landscape and portrait too.

    • I was very impressed with that as well, only had to charge it once! I have to agree that working on an iPad is a little bit slower than on any computer, but I think it is also a matter of getting used to it. For example, this keyboard definitely helps in any typing task, for example, if you had an idea to blog and just wanted to scribble it somewhere. But yes, to do proper work, I think nothing substitutes perfectly an actual laptop or computer.

  2. I have enjoyed the new keyboard that doubles as a protector for the iPad. However, after about a month, I could not type the letter “t” for some odd reason. So I brought it to the Apple store where I bought it. I showed them that no matter how much I tap on the “T” key, nothing happens. They looked at me and then gave me a new one! Awesome! They have my loyalty, that’s for sure!

    • Yeah, I think Apple’s customer service is amazing. I had some problems with the settings of a SIM card and they called me literally 5 seconds after I submitted my phone number. I am glad to see that you got a new keyboard you can enjoy!

Leave a Reply

